New Hampshire Wrongful Death Lawyer
No even can cause the profound grief that is associated with the sudden and unexpected death of a loved one. Families in these situations face a number of significant challenges that can be incredibly difficult to adjust to.
New Hampshire Revised Statute § 556:11 establishes that a person has six years to file a wrongful death claim in New Hampshire. This time limit is known as the statute of limitations, and a court will not hear any case filed after it has expired.
Need an Injury Lawyer New Hampshire understands that families are not immediately prepared to handle court cases after a loved one’s death, which is why our firm takes care of all paperwork and court appearances on their behalf. We represent families in Durham, Portsmouth, Milford, Goffstown, Hampton, Laconia, Manchester, Berlin, Nashua, Conway, Concord, Raymond, Amherst, Derry, Hanover, Dover, Somersworth, Rochester, Pelham, Salem, Lebanon, Merrimack, Claremont, Hudson, Hooksett, Londonderry, Windham, Keene, Exeter, Bedford, and many other surrounding areas of the Granite State.
Wrongful Death Laws in New Hampshire
New Hampshire Revised Statute § 556:19 provides that any person interested in the estate of a deceased person to begin an action as administrator. In most cases, the administrator will be the descendant’s spouse, child, or parent, but courts can make exceptions for certain other family members or interested parties.
Plaintiffs may be able to recover damages for:
- Funeral expenses
- Medical expenses
- Hospital expenses
- Nursing expenses
- Expenses of administration necessitated by reason of injuries causing death
Damages for the loss of the comfort, society, and companionship of the deceased are “capped” at $150,000 under New Hampshire Revised Statute § 556:12. Damages to children of the deceased for loss of familial relationship also have a $150,000 maximum.
While the six-year statute of limitations may sound like a considerable amount of time to victims, it is important to remember that such time limit applies to news cases. Family members may, in fact, have significantly less time for certain claims relating to the deceased’s estate. For this reason, it is absolutely critical for families to seek legal representation as soon as possible when a loved one dies because of another party’s negligence.
Types of Wrongful Death Cases in New Hampshire
Some of the most common causes of wrongful death in New Hampshire include, but are not limited to:
- Car Accidents
- Motorcycle Accidents
- Truck Accidents
- Commercial Vehicle Accidents
- Bus Accidents
- Driving Under the Influence (DUI) Accidents
- Bicycle Accidents
- Ridesharing (Uber or Lyft) Accidents
- Pedestrian Accidents
- Medical Malpractice
- Workplace Accidents
Wrongful Death Attorney in New Hampshire
Was your loved one killed as the result of another party’s negligence in New Hampshire? Do not make any recorded statement to an insurance company until you have legal representation. Contact Need an Injury Lawyer New Hampshire as soon as possible.
Our firm serves people in communities all over Merrimack County, Carroll County, Strafford County, Belknap County, Cheshire County, Grafton County, Hillsborough County, Coos County, Rockingham County, and Sullivan County. We are available 24/7 to set up a free consultation so you can have our personal injury attorneys provide an honest and thorough evaluation of your case.